Posted by: Mike Ferruggia | May 28, 2013

Recognition and Awareness

Mike Murdoch speaks of the law of recognition–recognizing that what you need to achieve your goals is already in your life, you just haven’t recognized it yet. In Catholic theology, there was a time when the concept of re-cognizing who you were was hip, i.e., a child of God. So, I sat at one of my favorite Starbucks the other day and stared into space and then tried to start recognizing the people around me. Did I know them? Did they know me? At one point, I felt very anonymous and wanted to start walking up to people and asking them, “Do you know who I am? Who am I?” Kind of like almost as if I have spiritual amnesia! I don’t remember the souls I came here with. I think when everybody else got on the metaphorical bus, I stayed behind and now I don’t know this new crew of people in my circle.

Sitting and waiting patiently is tough. I’ve done it a lot. Sitting and listening for the voice of the Holy Spirit. Waiting for the guru or student to walk into your life. Peering at people, asking, “Is that the love of my life?” Ha! But it is what we are called to do. To be vigilant. To be aware. To listen intently. I have, in my experience, heard the voice and the call of the Holy Spirit(Deep in my heart–I don’t think I’ve gone nuts yet and started actually hearing voices!). I Have recognized people, as if we had known each other before.

But there’s been a sort of Mike Ferruggia diaspora. My close friends have gone to the four winds to move on with their lives. There are two or three people and family still here. But so much is like watching a play and I don’t recognize the plot yet. I need to sit and watch and contemplate and try to make sense out of it all.

In time, I sort of recognized the people around me. They weren’t originally part of my circle. We weren’t friends before birth like the others in my life. But they came later, and they came from the same place, from the same source. They were the new generation and I recognized them. I just haven’t figured out why I’m where I am at this moment yet!

Leave a Reply

Categories

