Posted by: Mike Ferruggia | May 20, 2011

How Great Thou Art

Every once in a while the Christians hit it out of the ballpark. This song is amazing and embodies all the wonder and awesomeness of the wolrd we live in and the mystery in which we are participating. Tammy Wynette’s version is classic country, but I just spent an hour or so listening to a lot of different versions.

(youtube=)

Lyrics:How Great Thou Art Hymn
Lord my God! When I in awesome wonder
Consider all the works thy hand hath made,
I see the stars, I hear the mighty thunder,
Thy power throughout the universe displayed;

Refrain:
Then sings my soul, my Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, how great Thou art!
Then sings my soul, my Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, how great Thou art!

When through the woods and forest glades I wander
and hear the birds sing sweetly in the trees;
when I look down from lofty mountain grandeur,
and hear the brook, and feel he gentle breeze;

Refrain

And when I think that God his son not sparing,
Sent him to die – I scarce can take it in,
That on the cross my burden gladly bearing,
He bled and died to take away my sin:

Refrain

When Christ shall come with shout of acclamation
And take me home- what joy shall fill my heart!
Then I shall bow in humble adoration
And there proclaim, my God, how great thou art!

Then sings my soul, my Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, how great Thou art!
Then sings my soul, my Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, how great Thou art!

Responses

  1. ANNETTE YOUR FATHER WAS MY HERO. MY TRUE HERO. IT WAS CIS HIS NURSE TOLD ME HE HAD MS NOT ONCE BUT MANY TIMES! SO 4 GIVE ME IF IM WRONG! THE THING HANGONG IN HIS OFFICE GOD BLESS OUR PAD! I MADE FOR HIM!!! IM SO SORRY HE PASSED! HE WAS SIMPLY THE BEST HEARTED AMAZING MAN NEXT TO MY DAD!!!!IM SURE RUNNING INTO MY POST WASNT A COINCIDENCE!!!

  2. Maggie,

    My father was Dr. S.L. Watson from Lakeland. He did deliver Tammy’s first child and treated her for a number of years. He had a stroke (not MS) that kept him from continuing obstetrics as well as overall failing health. He passed away in 2001. I can’t believe that I stumbled on your post!

    Annette

    • I WILL LIGHT A CANDLE FOR HIM TONIGHT!

  3. MIKE THE DOCTOR THAT DELIVERED MY FIRST CHILD S L WATSON IN LAKELAND WAS TAMMYS DR HE GOT BAD BAD MULTIPLE SCLEROSIS SO FOR MY SECOND CHILD WHEN I WORRIED ABOUT NEW DOCTOR HE WOULD SNEAK ME IN HIS OFFICE BACK WAY WITH TAMMY WYNNETTE WHO LIVED IN LAKELAND THEN, NICE WOMAN ONCE SHE HAD BLACK EYE AND DR WATSONS SEC SIS TOLD ME GEORGE JONES BEAT HER! TRUE STORY! THANKS FOR SHARING!


Leave a Reply

Categories

