Posted by: Mike Ferruggia | May 2, 2011

No Time is a Good Time

In responding to a comment on a post I did on Thomas Merton, The Inner Experience, I mentioned howit has been hard lately to have a regular disciplined practice, working 45 to 50 hours a week, and recently concentrating on rehabilitating my back. But, I suppose the truth is, I’m a bit lazy. I have been chomping at the bit to do my tai chi forms in their entirety, but I have to hold off until I have completely healed my herniated disc. The McKenzie therapy mthod is working very well, but it is taking a little longer because of time, once again, to do the exercises regularly.

But the other truth here, as it has always been, is that compartmentalizing our lives is not really the tai chi way. Everything we do, every breath we take, every shoe we sell, every customer we engage, every step, every door we open, every mouthful of food we take, is an expression of tai chi; it is done in the tai chi way, or maybe more familiarly, with a zen consciousness or mindfulness.

I mentioned to another friend yesterday that this weekend was so busy at work, running non-stop, that I had no time to think about any of the things I would’ve wanted to pay attention to. But then I realized the moment I said it that the entire weekend was an experience of being no-mind, and that it was an opportunity and experience in being zen, in being tai chi.

So, if you have no time, then no time is a good time. And when the time does present itself, take it! I’m sure many mall browsers have peaked in when I’ve had no customers to see me furtively tai chi stepping around the sales floor, or doing segments of the forms! They may think I’m nuts–I try not to be too obvious. And I try to encorporate the tai chi principles of movement throughout the day, from getting a shoe off the shelf to using the shoe poles as a staff and whipping it around in the back room, to turning corners with balance and sure stepping, and on and on.

Ans believe me, there are ample opportunities to put the tai chi principles and I Ching moral principles to the test in our relationships with our employers, co-workers, and customers. Very often, because they are operating under a secular set of rules, they can work hard to pull us off balance. It is a key test to employ the I Ching principles of right action in these relationships!

Responses

  1. a m e n !!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

