Posted by: Mike Ferruggia | March 20, 2011

Cultivating Modesty

The I Ching, the external well of guidance, advises us that modesty is an important character trait for those on the path. But what is modesty? In Hexagram 15, we get a very good definition:

“1. Modesty is not engaging in arrogant, ego centric behavior.
2 Modesty is looking for opportunities to correct ourselves, to assist justice where there is injustice.
3. Modesty is holding to innocence, sincerity, and openness in every situation.

Empty yourself and make room for the blessings of the Creative.”(Brian Browne Walker edition).

Responses

  1. My journey is probably the same as yours, I just have a different way to get to it! thats all! As long as you find a way to get there it doesnt matter which way you reach it! Have you read the The tao of Willy?

  2. Maybe u can send me a video of you doing it?

    • Visit my youtube channel. There’s a link to the right. There are over 20 free videos of tai chi and chi kung. As for what I can teach you, I don’t know that I could teach much throught the blog. What is your journey? What’s your story? Maybe the first place to start would be for you to get the Tao de Ching and the I Ching and check them out if you haven’t already.

  3. I sure do Mike! If i didnt i wouldnt comment!!! Just want to see what you can teach me?

  4. Intention! what is your intention in writing this blog, Is it to teach others, to look superior, to be of help?????? Intention!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • The intent of the blog is to share my journey in taichi and taoist philiosphy, and to have a meaningful exchange with other practitioners developing and cultivating themselves. What is your intention? Do you enjoy reading the blog?

  5. And not walk around naked!

    • for some, it might take a great deal of modesty to walk around naked and not be embarrassed…

      • At my age not much embarasses me! Though i dont walk around naked much!


Leave a Reply

Categories

