Posted by: Mike Ferruggia | November 9, 2010

Spiritual Progress

On a personal note, I wanted to let you all know that I went back to mass last week, went to confession, and went to mass today. The divine mystery of the Eucharist or Blessed Sacrament, the presence of the Holy Spirit working in our lives, for me, is intimately tied to the spiritual experience of my tai chi chuan and qi gong. Being catholic and being taoist and a tai chi chuan player are not opposed to each other. They all lead to an experience, a deep, contemplative, intuitive understanding of the mystery of our lives, of the divine spark in all things, of the holiness of our lives.

I will confess here that I am happy that I can go to daily mass during the week as opposed to Sunday mass. There is such a difference in the dynamic of the two. I guess I am also searching for connection to a community, reaching out for support on the path. There is a parish church across the street from me and a group of Dominican Nuns down the road at the college in town. I actually feel more comfortable with the nuns, but I still feel a bit awkward, being the only male at the mass besides the priest. But they have been welcoming.

So, in my life, I am being called back to the Eucharist, to continue my tai chi and chi kung(the chi king is actually helping my back issues–the back pain has been an interesting journey in trying to understand my own body and working to fix myself), and to experience each day at work and in my social life the tai chi way. To see the responsibilities I have at work as important in the tai chi way, to be a witness to others of the proper way, to be a mentor and protector, to help others grow and develop, to learn more myself and help others progress in their journeys.

Responses

  1. That is wonderful, Mike.

    I’ve been reading your blog now for a few weeks. And I completely agree with you that Tai Chi Chuan and Qi Gong can be compatible with the spiritual life of a Christian.

    I myself am a Licensed Acupuncturist and also a player of Qi Gong. I am also a very strong believer in Christ and a member of the Lutheran Church Missouri Synod.

    Please continue your writings. I have found that I enjoy reading your blog.

    Cheers!

    • thanks for the kind words, Terry. I didn’t flesh out the ideas as much as I could have, but that’s an on going thing. On my next day off, I’ll check out your site; it looks like it has a lot of great information.

      Mike

  2. Whatever floats your boat Mike


Leave a Reply

Categories

