Posted by: Mike Ferruggia | September 27, 2010

Tai Chi Mindfulness

Monday afternoon, day off, sitting at a Starbucks and communicating via e mail, facebook, the blog, catching up, trying to make the most of a rainy afternoon. I just stepped out for a smoke, and spontaneously went into a tai chi move. It’s such cool stuff. I should have done a round this morning but I got up late and the back still hurts, and I really want to find a way of fixing it. When I do chi king and tai chi, it loosens up, but I haven’t had a lot of free time to practice every day, so I don’t know if that alone will fix it. I’ve been to the chiropractor, with some success, but not 100%, Ice and heat help. And dissolving meditation helps. And advil! I may have to bite the bullet and go to a regular md just to get a diagnosis. I don’t think it’s a disc issue. I think the deep muscle in the lower back just got injured somehow, I don’t even know how, and it’s taking forever to heal, probably because I continue to work and am on my feet all day. In any event…

Vibrations and waves…key concepts to the understanding of our existence and the universe…aum…aum…the vibrational sound of the universe. Sit in meditation and find the vibration, ride the wave.

I had an iea for a visualization last night…see yourself backstage with a packed audience and you have to go out there and give the presentation, off the cuff…say what it’s all about…well, I haven’t done it yet, but maybe tonight. In the end, maybe it would be wordless and just a few really good, flowing, tai chi moves…

Meantime, an opportunity here and there to show the kids at work a self defense move or two, using proper principles…I love teaching this stuff, and I love practicing it. Ok, enough rambling.

Leave a Reply

Categories

