Posted by: Mike Ferruggia | September 22, 2010

Conscious Living

It has been extrememly busy at work the last few weeks, but it has been good. It is an opportunity to reconnect with some fundamental practices. The first is my attraction to St. Therese of Liseaux, whose spirituality was the Little Way, doing the little things, day in and day out, with love and awareness of God. It’s an interesting stroke of synchronicity that on the night at work that St. Therese had come back into my consciousness that an older woman came in looking for shoes, and as we started a conversation, she brightened–I had noticed the cross on her neck–and the holy card of St. Therese came out of her purse and she gifted me with the picture as well as some other devotional booklets.

It’s easy for us to become overwhelmed and allow work to suck the life force out of us. But if we approach these times with mindfulness, awareness, and do a good job, work hard with good intentions, with honesty and sincerity, it becomes a tool for spiritual growth. Being busy also helps to keep the ego and the imaginative fantasies in check just because you don’t have time for it.

Bitching and complaining, being negative, letting circumstances bring you down, these are the seductions in this world. Even more dangerous than a lot of work is the emotional turmoil that can happen when you are not getting along with your co workers or your boss. Thankfully, this hasn’t happened to me. I’ve been blessed with good co workers and a great boss, but I can see how it can wreak havoc emotionally and seduce you away from a balanced life. I’ve been through that trial in other circumstances and it isn’t fun nor easy to negotiate from a spiritual perspective. But all of these moments are opportunities to learn, to test the spiritual faith in fire, and to be a positive influence on the people who come into your sphere of unfluence.

Mindfulness, conscious living, awareness, gentleness, wisdom, innocence, integrity, love and friendship, loyalty, can all be practiced whether you are at work or in a hermitage. Yes, I wish I could spend 90 to 100 per cent of my time pursuing my contemplative practice of tai chi chuan king fu, but if I remain focused, I can practice my contemplative practice of tai chi chuan king fu 100% of the time.

Leave a Reply

Categories

