Posted by: Mike Ferruggia | June 29, 2010

Martial Arts Films; Ip Man, Karate Kid, Airbender

So, some movies coming out for us martial artists to enjoy. First, I discovered a movie on Youtube called Ip Man, with Donny Yuen, which apparently came out last year; the story of Ip Man, Bruce Lee’s Wing Chun Instructor. It’s a great story, Ip Man’s life during the Japanese occupation. Apparently there’s an Ip Man II, but I am not sure where it is available. But the martial arts is fantastic.

I also treated myself to the Karate Kid, with Jackie Chan and Jaden Smith(Will Smith and Jada Pinkett Smith’s son). It was ok, I mean, as a movie, it was alright, but I enjoyed it immensely because of my love of Kung Fu and seeing the training involved in learning. My favorite Karate Kid movie remains the one with Hillary Swank.

And, coming out in July is the Last Airbender, based on the nickolodean cartoon series that was fantastic, called the last avatar(I guess theother movie with blue people called avatar had the rights to the name).
The cool thing about the series and I hope in the movie is that there are four nations, and each one practices a different form of martial arts. The airbender does pakua(bagua), the water nation tai chi, and the other two are hung gar and something else, I don’t remember. So I hope it lives up to my expectations!

Leave a Reply

Categories

