Posted by: Mike Ferruggia | March 3, 2010

Taoist Philosophy

“In harmony with the tao…all creatures flourish together…content…endlessly repeating themselves, endlessly renewed.”–Tao Te Ching 39

I’ve been re-reading the Tao Te Ching–if you haven’t, you should–and this verse stood out because I’ve been thinking a lot about seasons, lately, not just the seasons of nature, winter, spring, summer, fall, each of them with their own precous qualities, but the seasons we go through in our lives. In hindsight, we can look back and see the clear beginnings and endings of our seasons; high school was a season, college was a season, successive jobs were seasons. It’s also amazing to look back at who the important people were in your life in those seasons. What people have stayed in your life through several seasons?

As I struggle with trying to understand the meaning of life, the seasons play an important role. They come together like a jigsaw puzzle, and as we watch nature do her thing, we see that all things do flourish, are content, and do endlessly repeat themselves, and are endlessly renewed.

The patterns of nature are awesome, and the patterns of our lives are awesome too.

Our lives are lives of renewal, of birth and life cycled with death, but always renewing. Yes, it’s winter here in Jersey, and we’ve had some good snow this year, but as I watch out the window and get through every day, I know there is a time for every season and the hope of spring is always there.

I don’t know the answer to life. I look to things around me; I look deep inside of me. I see the patterns. I see the awesomeness of existence. I see the call to develop, grow, evolve; not just me individually, but generation after generation after generation. This is the way of things. A tree bears fruit, it ripens, drops to the earth, and another tree grows.

Leave a Reply

Categories

