Posted by: Mike Ferruggia | January 12, 2010

Purpose Driven Life; Day 3

What drives your life? Rick Warren suggests that a lot of us are driven by guilt, resentment, anger, fear, materialism, need for approval. He says, “Most people are wandering through life without a purpose.” I find that to be true myself. In mulling over these questions, I’ve wondered, what does give people meanng and purpose. One sure one I came up with was having a family. Supporting your family gives meaning to the most menial and mundane work, because you’re not so much doing it for the work itself, but to support your family. I suppose, in a way, too, it makes sense if you are simply supporting yourself.

He also says, “Fear driven people often miss great opportunitiesas they play it safe, avoid taking risks, and try to maintain the status quo…no man can serve two masters…without a purpose, life is trivial, petty, and pointless.”nowing your purpose has benefits: it gives meaning to your life, simplifies your life, focuses your life, motivates your life, and prepares you for eternity.

Of course, Rick Warren maintains that your purpose is God’s purpose for you and we need to discover and accept it. As he says in Day one, it’s not about me. But a person can have meaning, I think, let’s say, as a taoist tai chi contemplative, which if you asked me what I was, that is what I’d tell you. Rick Warren might think I was deluding myself. I might disagree. There is a recognition of the divine, of the sacred, of my place in the whole system.

His chapter ending question was really good: What would my family and friends say is the driving force of my life? Do they get what I’m trying to do? I don’t know.

Responses

  1. Boy is this stuff ever true. This is why I’ve been going on about hope so much over on my blog. Once you understand where it is you are trying to go, it does make a huge difference in your life. You find the strength to suffer losses, and the strength to keep moving forward, in spite of impossible obstacles.

    They have me working in Kabul now which frustrates me for one very odd reason– there’s no war happening here. The war is back in Kandahar. If I am in Afghanistan, away from my family, at least let me contribute to the war effort– give me some meaningful purpose for being here.

    Strange the way we welcome hardship when that hardship brings us what we want.


Leave a Reply

Categories

