Posted by: Mike Ferruggia | December 7, 2009

On Becoming a Dragon

A while ago, I stepped outside of a Starbucks to have a smoke, and as I blew the smoke from my mouth, I had the idea come to me that I was a dragon. The idea has been on the back burner for a while, but here’s what I’d like to do with it. I read up on the philosophy of chinese dragons a bit today, and while I cannot pretend to be able to offer up a real understanding of the chinese cultural understanding, I see a dragon as a concept, as embodying the concepts of great martial arts, or gong fu–like Bruce Lee was the Dragon of all Dragons–or the Dragon in “Spirited Away” named Hakku. The dragon is a creature who because he is so in tune with nature, can control it–he is a protector, a mentor, a person of courage, strength, and honor. He is a person of high moral character. He would be the person who embodies the concepts of the I Ching.

So I wanted to come up with a dragon name for myself–I guess I have earth dragon qualities–quiet, and I’ve thought about calling myself the quiet dragon. But I’m not sure yet. I associate the tai chi concept of transforming jing, physical essence, to chi, or life energy or force, and transforming chi to shen, or spiritual energy–I associate the shen spirit to the spirit of the dragon–the time when we become attuned to or transformed into our spirit dragon, or most embody our dragon qualities. So, I like working on becoming a dragon–when I decide what my dragon name is, I might actually be able to fulfill becoming it.

In fact, in flipping around the web, I found this site on “Becoming a Dragon,” and Dragon Training:

Leave a Reply

Categories

