Posted by: Mike Ferruggia | October 20, 2009

Liam Neeson in “Taken”

Watched a movie last night recommended by a friend with Liam Neeson in it called Taken. So, the daughter is kidnapped and sold into the slave trade, and Neeson is a government operative whose specialty is tracking people like this and killing them, so that’s what he does. I’m writing about it because it was a cool movie and because it was a lesson in adaptability and having a skill set and being able to put it into action. Tai chi teaches adaptability. Experience teaches you how to do all the things he does in the movie, like tapping phones and hotwiring cars and driving audis at 100 mph on the wrong side of the highway, firing all kinds of weapons, and of course, killing people with your bare hands. But what has me thinking, is, how good would we be in a crisis situation–could we survive, could we make it through the crisis, do we have enough wisdom, life experience, skill set, adaptability to make it through?

I joked with my friend who watched the movie that “if you don’t return my daughter, I have a very particular set of skills. I will sell you shoes and make you coffee.” So, those are some serious skills. I have some serious skills with the tai chi thing, but I don’t know if I could cut through guy after guy like butter.

So, I’m asking myself, what skillsets do I have, which of them are skills that would be transferrable in a crisis, how would I deal with similar situations? The most useful would be the tai chi, not just for it’s martial technique, but for it’s life lessons–the awareness training, the listening skills, the adapting to change, the creativity, the going with the flow.

Let me say this–if the mall where I work is inundated by zombies, I’m ready to rock and roll and give them a run for their money! But if my car won’t start in the morning and I can’t get to work, I might crumble.(I just knocked on wood so as not to jinx myself–man I am superstitious, what can I say…

Leave a Reply

Categories

