Posted by: Mike Ferruggia | July 24, 2009

Corporate Speak; It is What It Is

The phrases of corporate speak are funny to me because it’s a way of negotiating the ins and outs of corporate relationships. I was listening to a manager a while ago, not in my current position, getting reamed out on the phone, and there really was no excuse, and the words, “it is what it is” rolled off his lips with the promise to fix things and that “at the end of the day” what matters is blahblahblahblahblah.

I thought of this because I was thinking about my current situation, the pros and cons, and I said to myself, “it is what it is.” So, I think it’s the taoist point of view, and even the buddhist. It is what it is. You can’t make the earth spin in the opposite direction. You can work hard, prepare, make good choices in life. This is all essential. You do have to take personal responsibility for your life, and if you don’t like something, change it. Simple as that. You are in control, to a large degree. To try to create a life that is free of trouble is futile, but it’s how you handle it that makes the difference.

So, we will drive this promotion to success, we’ll comp lasy year’s numbers, we’ll work as a team, and at the end of the day…well, it is what it is. Ha! You know, I’m complicit in my own exploitation, working long hours without much help; this is the effect of corporations running everything instead of mom and pop type stores.

And just be careful, because the word “unacceptable” is running rampant, and there’s a behavior of yours that might make the list!

Leave a Reply

Categories

