Posted by: Mike Ferruggia | July 24, 2009

Buddhist Chanting and the Mischievous

So, I’ve been chnating Nam Myoho renge kyo in my car, a devotion to the universal law of cause and effect, and a practice that offers similar benefits of tai chi and taoism, that is, tapping into that inner life force that is supposed to be unlimited and full of power and that gives us the wisdom to make good choices and to approach life with the proper attitude. My concern is that it not just be about attitude or viewpoint, that there actually be a tapping into a wellspring that conects us to something higher, deeper, potent. If it’s just a question of focusing one’s attention, of coming up with a game plan, of taking responsibility for one’s life, that’s all well and good, but maybe I don’t need to chant. Do I want to magically manipulate my environment? Well, yes, I do, I want to chant nam myoho renge kyo, or do tai chi, anf become connected to this life force that gives me a leg up on the game, that helps me to recognize the synchronicity of things. I know I’m pushing the envelope here, and that it doesn’t quite work like that, but, I still believe there is something mystical about it, and that’s what keeps me coming back.

I must say, however, in the car yesterday, in a moment of irreverence and mischievousness, after 30 minutes chanting nam myoho renge kyo, I began chanting “eeny meeny miney mo.” At first, I was afraid the universal law of karma would get me for my actions and undo all the good chanting I had been doing. But then I thought, you know, does it really matter what I’m saying? Is there a magic to the eeny meeny miney mo? Does it have the same effect? All I can here is the looney tunes theme song, and I wonder if we should just live our lives with the zen like attitude of Bugs Bunny.

Leave a Reply

Categories

