Posted by: Mike Ferruggia | July 10, 2009

Buddhism: The Iron Law of Cause and Effect

So, this post is more of a rambling update. Reading more of The Buddha in the Mirror. Taking responsibility for your own life; realizing that creating a problem free life is impossible. Problems are life. It is your approach that matters; We are bound by the iron law of cause and effect–my life circumstances is a mirror of my inner me, created by lifetimes of choices and actions; I’m working in this life to make things better!; The more I practice for others, with compassion, the better it is for me. I have such a wonderful perspective, gaining a gusto for challenges, adapting to the problems that come, learning from them. Positivity.

I’m trying to work out the contexts of my tai chi and taoist leanings with those of buddhism. Many similarities, some differences. I’m exploring it.

I’ve been focused for a long time on “extricating” myself. Perhaps I should start focusing on “transcending.”
I’m not fully sure what that really means.

I am having thoughts come to me that perhaps I did have something to do with shoes in a previous life–why else would I be where I am now! Ha! I think I’m getting it, actually, why I am where I am at the moment…

Funniest question of the day: “Sir, are these shoes good for walking?”
In the store, I gave a serious answer. Last night, amongst friends, we laughed ourselves silly with tears coming down our eyes! I think it was more just a release from the tension of my first two weeks of work, but man, it’s good to have a good laugh!

Responses

  1. “(C)reating a problem free life is impossible. Problems are life… my life circumstances is a mirror of my inner me, created by lifetimes of choices and actions”

    Does that mean everyone’s inner self is ridden with problems? Would resolution of all inner conflicts result in death?

    • Hey Alamanach. Always good to hear from you. As for the first question, and I’m a rookie at this buddhism stuff, but I guess, yes, if your world is chaotic and full of problems, I think it is an indication of inner turmoil and conflict. Some of this stuff becomes a question of perspective. I mean, if I don’t care about certain things, then it won’t bother me. But I don’t think this is what buddhism is striving for. It’s changing your mental attitude so that when I go to work I am not cowed into fear and anxiety by the number of problems I’ll be facing, but embrace the difficulties as natural to life, and approach them with wisdom, courage, and a certain elan.

      As for the second question, I think the opposite is true, if it were possible to resolve all inner conflict, it would result in life to the fullest…


Leave a Reply

Categories

