Posted by: Mike Ferruggia | July 3, 2009

The Buddha In the Mirror

So, I’m working my way through The Buddha In The Miror, the book my friend lent me, and I’ll tell you, at a good time. Starting a new job has been so anxiety ridden, and the longing for the freedom I’ve had the last few months. In any event, the book is clearing up many of the misconceptions I’ve had about buddhism. The clear distinction between buddhism and catholicism is that in prayer, we implore our creator for salvation. In chanting, we plumb the inner depths of ourselves because we are the buddha. The solutions are in us.

I appreciate very much this concept of the book: chanting “nam myoho renge kyo” is not an end to itself, but a way for us to move deliberately into action. Here, buddhism is primarily a philosophy of action, acting with wisdom.

The law of cause and effect is universal, it is complex and mystical–we cannot grasp it. But, we sow many seeds with thoughts, words, and deeds, and the effect is manifested in our lives, sometimes, quickly, sometimes it takes a while. So, I’m all about creating causes that will be positive and bring about positve effects, in the beginning for me, in time for the world around me. It’s very difficult to have control of the things we cause or seed because even those are ruled by previous causes. But, through the chanting, through connecting and being in harmony and rhythm with the natural law, we can begin to choose the causes we send out. We have the power to tap into the forces of the universe. This is a law just like gravity.

Remember, your thoughts, words, and actions are causes that have effect. So, the cool thing about chanting nam myoho renge kyo is that you don’t have to know what it means. Just do it, and you will begin to see the effects. This is also true of tai chi. I sometimes felt very humbled by other tai chi teachers who knew so much about anatomy and what specific moves do for specific organs. I liked that my teacher always told us, just do the tai chi, and I passed that on to my students. Practicing tai chi has the same effects as buddhist chanting. I don’t see any discrepancies between the two philosophies.

Final point, our outside world is a reflection of us. If I look at my circumstances, I see me. In the book, it says, “one’s environment and circumstances mirror one’s inner life. Who you are determines the quality of your surroundings.” This is one of the most profound statements I have seen, heard in a long time. It is great food for contemplation. Look at the world around you, the environment and circumstances you are in. Do you see that it is a mirror of your inner self? Do you see how profound that is? Man!

Leave a Reply

Categories

