Posted by: Mike Ferruggia | June 1, 2009

Affirmations for the Subconscious Mind

When I was moving from my house, I found a pamphlet in the basement written by my grandfather entitled The Magic of Creative Thought, dated in the 40’s. In it, he speaks of using the power of the mind to visualize, making affirmations in the evening and in the morning when you first wake up, both times when your mind is most open to suggestive thought. This is the stuff of the Law of Attraction, the Power of Creative Thought, Positive Thinking, The Secret. It’s been around for a while and it works. You create the right circumstances for you to fulfill what you are trying to do.  As I’ve said in the past, you can visualize a bridge from now till domsday, but it won’t magically appear on its own. But if you use the power of your mind to believe it is possible, you be in the right frame of mind to make it happen, to create and recognize the circumstances for it to come to fruition.

So Here are my personal affirmations:

1. My body knows how to heal itself and every night it repairs and rejuvenates itself so that I am healthy, vital, and strong.

2. My Tai Chi Chuan “gong-fu” is very very good and I am an excellent teacher.

3. I am connected to and have access to the resources necessary for me to be financially stable and independent.

4. I recognize the holiness in life and in me, and people recognize it in me.

5. I am a person of character, integrity, honesty, authenticity, simplicity, humility, and peace.

6. I am successful in myendeavors.

It’s funny because I’m beginning to day to tape myself teaching the Yang style Long form of tai chi having finished the Wu Style, and I put myself to sleep last night visualizing the Yang style moves in my head.

Responses

  1. Yeah, creating big fictions would put make me a bit suspicious, too. Acting As If isn’t all of that – it’s just as simple as acting patientiently, instead of freaking out, or, saying Hello and smiling, instead of closing up, etc. Little gestures that recondition you. Acting as if…enlightened. Not telling big stories.

  2. I remember going to a workshop more than 20 years ago in which we were encouraged to “create our own reality.” I was there as part of a non profit group looking to learn how to fundraise. We were told to envision ourselves as having plenty of money. At dinner I met a woman who was telling me all about how great her life was and what a wonderful marriage she had, but continued to tell me she was in the middle of a divorce and there was no love between them but she was creating her own reality. It was so pathos filled, so sad, and so delusional. I was very put off back then, either because I didn’t get it, or, more likely, because it was focused not on developing yourself to do what needed to be done, but on delusion, deluding yourself into the idea that reality can be whatever you want it to be.

  3. There’s a similar Zen expression, “Act As If.” By acting as if, you begin to recondition yourself, and experience life in a new self-created reality. I always liked the idea. And, yeah, Wayne Dyer is cool. He was actually on Ellen not too long ago – making the big main stream.

  4. I’ve been interested in this for a while, and have mixed feelings. Pema Chodron distinguishes between affirmations, and aspirations. Affirmations ring out the echo of untruth – telling yourself something you don’t quite believe, underneath it all. Whereas aspirations are more like a vow. A vow to be more connected, or to be more truthful, or work on your patience, etc., without the need to convince yourself of anything – on the contrary, you accept, and in the act of acceptance, things shift naturally with your growth (and the fearless act of facing the actual state of things). With my longtime Buddhist sympathies, I tend toward this line of thought. However, one of my beloved Kundalini teachers embraces the art of affirmation, saying that there’s absolutely nothing wrong with desires – there’s only our broken undeveloped brain which isn’t fit – in most people – to manifest those desires, because we haven’t developed our brains through disciplined practice.

    • Hey Donna! Good to hear from you. I know what you mean, the distinction is important, particularly if you know what you are affirming is untrue, then it really won’t work at all. It has to be positive and stated in the present, not as a hope for the future. It’s very much in line with the Wayne Dyer stuff–thinkng positively. Why choose the negative possibility? In the end, I’ve always gone to my safe place, which is, just do the tai chi. It’s here that I can be more connected, more truthful. Just do the tai chi, and everything else follows. On the other hand, there are people like my brother, who I also admire, who set a goal, establish a plan of action, and work like the dickens to bring it to fruition. So, I tend to be a more introverted, contemplative, intuitive type, so any suggestions I can give my subconscious mind is good! The truth is, I could never be good at tai chi if I simply affirmed it each night and each morning. It requires classes, a teacher, study, and practice. But it also requires that subconscious thing, that affirming that I am good at it, and one saying I’ve always loved, act as if you already are what you want to become…


Leave a Reply

Categories

