Posted by: Mike Ferruggia | May 20, 2009

Forced Cancer Care

I’m not fully up to speed on the story(nor is the media either) but I understand there’s a young, 13 year old in Minnesota who has Hodgkins Lymphoma. His parents want to forego standard western treatment and go with Native Indian healing a a protocol of vitamins. The case is in court as I write this. Man, this is a hard one. The debate is raging. Personally, I don’t think I would place myself in the hands of the current cancer treatment establishment(I just knocked on the wooden table). Look, sometimes you need a dentist, sometimes you need a doctor, sometimes antibiotics knock out bronchitis. I’m not anti science or anti medicine. But established cancer treatment I am a bit suspect of. First, I understand that their statistics could be very skewed in light of the alleged fact that they count you as a cure if you survive a number of years. If you survive, say, 5 years, you’re counted as cured, even if your cancer recurs after that or you die one day after that.  The media is claiming that it is outrageous to deny this young person treatment that has been proven successful in 90% of cases, but I wonder if that statistic is really accurate. I don’t know.  Trying to develop a successful protocol of alternative therapy is also very hard because it’s all over the place and requires such a great deal of your own research and even luck. It’s hard to discern the efficacy of some alternatives because all you have to go on is anecdotal evidence, and to hear some tell it, this is the fault of established western medicine for squashing legitimate research on these alternatives. Again, I don’t know. If I were a judge and there was a young person whose appendix was about to burst and the parents refused to take him to the hospital, I’d give the order. In this case, I’d want to be presented with the protocol they are using, or want to use. Does it have efficacy? I’m glad I’m not the judge. I wouldn’t want to make that decision for my own child, let alone someone else’s.

Responses

  1. I often think of one of my hero’s, Steve McQueen, who went to Mexico for Laetrile and the media would have us believe it failed and he died. But there are stories out there that he in fact was cured of the cancer and died from an unrelated infection or something like that. Again, you don’t know who to believe, and you don’t want to think that medical doctors are involved in some nefarious conspiracy and coverup, but even medical doctors can get caught up in thinking they are right when they aren’t. I also marvel at paharmaceutical ads that spend most of their commercial telling you how bad their product is for you, but then tell you to go ask your doctor for it. How insane is that!

  2. I feel similarly – when I was watching the case on the news, I felt all my suspicions of “the industry,” “the establishment,” and “the media,” come up – as the big-shots condemned, and pointed their fingers, throwing around confident statistics, while so many Americans (Farah included) are traveling overseas to get alternative, or more sophisticated treatments because of our own conservative and over-lobbied FDA approval system. I don’t know, the whole thing made me shake my head, but I am hesitant to blame the mother too quickly. It is a tough one.


Leave a Reply

Categories

