Posted by: Mike Ferruggia | May 18, 2009

Tai Chi Priesthood

I envision my practice of tai chi as sort of a priesthood. I love teaching, mentoring, counseling, being there for people, being a repository of a wonderful art and handing it down responsibly, authentically, with integrity. Living life according to the tai chi principles and the character traits in the I Ching, honesty, integrity, humility, innocence, balance, and on and on.  This really is what I want to be when I grow up, a tai chi priest. I struggled with the discernment since I was a boy with the catholic priesthood and even becoming a benedictine monk. But I decided not to do it for many reasons.  In any event, I’ve known what I want for a long time. It’s letting go of what I don’t want that’s hard.

Leave a Reply

Categories

