Posted by: Mike Ferruggia | May 14, 2009

Job Fare and Unemployment

Image68Went to a job fare today looking for work along with about 8 billion other people. It was an interesting experience, a first for me since I’ve never been unemployed before. I got some good leads, but I don’t know that any will come to fruition. But I was flabbergasted at the beginning to see so many people willing to work, herded in lines, all very politely, but herded in lines like sheep, all for a chance to offer up a resume for a low paying job. I actually considered applying to become a Bayarda nurse so that some poor lonely elderly person wouldn’t be stuck looking out the window on a stormy night wondering if they’d get their medication on time. The FBI, Marines, Army, Navy, and Coast Guard were there, but I missed the age cutoff by a few years!

I have to say, I think this is what the tai chi masters meant in the tai chi classics when they talked about being double weighted. You can’t be double weighted, you can’t serve two masters, if you compromise then you are compromised. That makes sense, doesn’t it(One of my all time hated phrases is when someone is feeding you a line and using circuitous logic and they nod their head in order to make you nod your head and theysay,”makes sense?” and you kind of go, in a daze, well uh, and then they move on.) So, one foot is in the tai chi life, the other is in the find a job life, and I will go on trying to make both work, but it would be nice if it were the former that took off.

Anyway, here’s a picture of me dressed for success!(I’m wearing new shoes which you can’t see in the picture)

Responses

  1. Good luck, Mike. I lost my job over a year ago, and at age 56, finally had enough of working for people that didn’t return the loyalty that I gave. So I created an online tai chi and internal arts school. 🙂

    I enjoyed your analogy about being double-weighted. I asked Chen Xiaowang to explain the concept of double-weighted, and he said it’s not when your weight is 50-50 but it’s when you are in a position, relative to your opponent, when you are unable to change and adapt to his force. In other words, you are vulnerable and have reached a point where you can’t change.

    I sure wish you a lot of luck finding a job and I enjoy your blog.

    Ken
    http://www.internalfightingarts.com

    • Hey Ken, thanks. Yes, thanks for the clarification on double weighted. It makes sense, especially since throughout the forms your weight varies, 70-30, 90-10, 80-20 , and even 50-50-although some teachers, in an effort to explain double weightedness, attempt to say that even in single whip, you really aren’t 50-50. I thnk in the fluidity of it, you pass through 50-50 at some point. But Chen Xiaowang makes sense, it’s the not being able to be agile, to move, being vulnerable. Will check out youron line site.

      Peace,

      Mike


Leave a Reply

Categories

