Posted by: Mike Ferruggia | April 26, 2009

Awe in Tai Chi

The tai chi practitioner is in awe of the world, the universe. The vastness of it. It’s incomprehensible. Going on ten years ago, I used to open at the Starbucks in Florham Park, and those early mornings were magical. The store faced east so we were able to greet the new day in all its splendor. On my breaks, I would go out on a bench and sit cross legged and realize I was sitting on the earth, facing east like I was on an amusement park ride, and it’s where I got the concept to name my then future tai chi studio, and my first handbook, Ride the Planet. In essence, we are all riding the planet, and sometimes it’s smooth, sometimes it’s like a bucking bronco! But always, it’s awesome. I am filled with wonder as I look around. Tai chi helps me develop an awareness of my surroundings, to feel that I am an integral part of everything, and that in this awe inspiring, wonderful setup, there is a connection to me, even from the farthest reaches of the universe, beyond our galaxy, beyond the galaxies that surround us, out into one of the 100 billion galaxies that exist, there is a connection to me. That’s awesome! When you move in tai chi, the entire universe is moving with you in unison, in harmony, in sych. How awesome is that.

Leave a Reply

Categories

