Posted by: Mike Ferruggia | April 23, 2009

My Tai Chi Life Assignment

Here’s another daydream scenario for self discovery. What if  we all were given assignments, one, maybe several, for our life, the reason for our existence, why we were born, specific and unique to us, geographically, and among the people, and maybe it changes throughout our lives. What is your assignment? Why were you put here? And how do you discover it. By your passion, by what interests you, by who you are attracted to, by who and what you are surrounded by. Your mission, Jim, should you decide to accept it…and if any of your IM force should be caught or killed, the secretary will disavow any knowledge of your existence…ha, aint that always the way…by the way, watched an old Mission Impossible episode last night, and those guys went through an awful lot of shenanigans to achieve their goals…why are you in the situation you are in? Why do you have to deal with the jerkoffs in your life these days. Well, what if that was the point. What if this was all happening on purpose.

So, I don’t think this is quite the case. Just a bit different. We discover who we are, we take a path, we walk it, we do things that are meaningful and make it our life mission, and we embrace the life we have, the things happening to us and do our best with it, trying to make things better, to improve, to have a positive influence on those around us.

I would love for my assignment to be tai chi related, to have a tai chi life, primarily as a practitioner of tai chi, chi kung, and meditation and contemplation. I want to be a contemplative tai chi monk. Related, I like teaching tai chi and chi kung, I want to write about it, make videos about it, spread the word about it, and how it relates to life, because, actually, I think you can apply the tai chi principles and philosophy of life to things other than tai chi itself. But that’s what I want my assignment to be.

I don’t know if it is something that can affect the world. Locally, the tai chi way is good for society. Can it influence the world?

Responses

  1. Hey Robin, I agree, I guess it’s more a tool for me to discover my own assignment, to give myself the mission, and even that, in a zen life, is there even a “mission”, but at least some goals. I want to write the book, I want to do the instructional videos, I want to be tai chi…P.S. Yeah, Tony Jaa rocks, and the end scene is very cool, but his athleticism is beyond me. I’ll have to work at doing all that stuff “internally” Ha!

  2. I completely follow your meaning, but assignment is such an unfortunate word for such a joyful practice…and for life! And in my mind it implies that we have no power over what we do – that it has all been written down in a big assignment book somewhere and we are being graded at each turn – either by ourselves or someone else. I’d like to think my life is like recess – and that the whole world with all it’s potential danger and inevitable pitfalls, is still open for me to play and discover. On the other hand, I got in a lot of fights during recess, so maybe this isn’t the best personal philosophy after all… 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

