Posted by: Mike Ferruggia | April 21, 2009

Sowing Seeds

I stayed up way too late last night watching preachers. It makes me think about disconnecting the cable again. I did without tv for over 2 years, but cable offered me a good deal so…

But here are some thoughts worth thinking about. Discovering who you are. Whether you were put here for a specific purpose unique only to you, or you have some choice in who you become, the bottom line is, we need to engage in some self discovery about who we are and what we become. What is our passion, what are we attracted to, who is in our life, and what is our role in all of it. The preacher even tried to say that geography was part of the destiny. So I must be in Jersey for a reason! This is where I need to be. And, I’ve always said this, meaning the particular situation at any given time, is where I need to be for the moment.

He also talked about how God will send us enemies to help us get to where we need to be! It’s a very yin yang concept. I’d rather say that, as the I Ching says, the adversity in our lives, even enemies, help teach us. There are lessons in it to be learned. So, I suppose the more you progress in the spiritual life, the greater the challenges will be.

Finally, he talked about sowing seeds for the harvest, and of course, this was where I got skeptical because there ain’t no way I was gonna send 1,000 dollars to some ministry! Ha!  However, we do have to see the importance of sowing seeds for the harvest down the line–going to school, meeting people,  writing a blog, offering your knowledge and teaching. Plant seeds and they will come to fruition. Maybe not all of them, but some.  And I do think there is some truth to the concept of a universal law, both in regards to the law of attraction, and to the law of the universe that the more you give with an open heart, the more it will come back to you in spades. I guess it’s simply a karmic law, and it works both ways. If you sow seeds of negativity and greed and hatred, you will reap a bad harvest! If you sow love, giving, good vibes, you ought to reap some pretty good stuff.

So, work hard, be diligent, be innocent, give of yourself, help others, be disciplined, keep your head down, stay focused, follow correct principles, and let the seeds take root.

Leave a Reply

Categories

