Posted by: Mike Ferruggia | March 24, 2009

Synchronicity

So, essentially, everything that is happening at the present moment is happening at the same time. All events are synchronous. Unfortunately, you can’t, at least I haven’t seen it, you can’t manipulate this by making something happen by wishing it so. But what you can do is open up your eyes and look around! Become aware of what is going on around you and you’ll see that there is synchronicity.

It is up to you to interpret the events taking place at the same time, coincidentally, to give them meaning, to make meaning out of it. For example, as I’m typing this, there are three people standing in line at Starbucks. This could mean absolutely nothing to me or it could be that I notice the stain on one guy’s coat and it reminds me that I need to bring my coat to the laundry. Is this a cosmic message from the gods? No. But by being aware, I’ve tapped into a power available to me. Maybe it can go deeper. What do coats mean to me? Why was it stained? It’s a silly example, but it’s a great exercise for self discovery.

In shamanism, there is a great emphasis placed on animals and what they mean in your life. So, try to be observant, and see what animals you happen to see cross your path today! I love seeing hawks in the air. They are so graceful. I’ve seen deer, graceful and agile and mystical, and injured and frightened on the road. A fox has crossed my car. Slyness? I’ve seen beautiful flocks of birds, raccoons! So, think about what each animal means to you and then interpret the synchronous event. It’s amazing how it works. And you’ll see the right animal at the right time and it will apply to the situation you’re going through. Again, is this amazing cosmic communication, or is it your mind doing the work, or maybe your mind doing the work is the way the cosmos communicates with us? Mm. I just thought of that. Whatever. It doesn’t matter. Don’t get hung up on it. Just keep your eye open for that free parking space that’s going to synchronistically materialize when you need it! Ha!

Leave a Reply

Categories

